HYDERABAD: With the Government in principle agreeing to the expansion of
jurisdiction of the Hyderabad Urban Development Authority (HUDA) by
setting up Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA), the area
under the jurisdiction of the new body will increase three-fold.
HUDA Vice-Chairman Jayesh Ranjan said the idea was to ensure scientific
and regulated development in view of the fast expansion and growth of the
twin cities and its surrounding areas. It was the model adopted in all
other metropolitan cities and, “we at Hyderabad too have to upgrade
ourselves in tune with the pace of development,” he said.
Three-tier structure
More importantly, the new body would have planning as well as enforcement
powers and it would incorporate and involve local bodies in the new
three-tier structure.
It would have powers to take stringent action against violators of norms
and confiscate illegal layouts.
The administration would be decentralised and the planning staff would be
incorporated from panchayats, district-level boards, local bodies.
They would be supported by the central office and made accountable for
enforcement of norms and regulations in their respective areas.
The present extent of Hyderabad Metropolitan region with four UDAs and
Cantonment covered an extent of 2,197 and now it was proposed to
include an additional area of 4,655
The population in the HMDA would be 78 lakhs, with 13 lakh population
being brought newly under its fold.
The HMDA would function in coordination with the proposed Greater
Hyderabad Corporation.
Proposed jurisdiction
The proposed jurisdiction would cover 54 mandals in five districts:
Hyderabad (all 16 mandals); Medak – 10 mandals – Toopran, Vargal,
Shivampet, Jinnaram, Narsapur, RC puram, Patancheru, Mulugu, Hatnur (part)
and Sangareddy; Ranga Reddy -22 mandals – Shankarpalli, Serilingampally,
Balanagar, Qutbullapur, Medchal, Shameerpet, Malkajgiri, Keesara,
Ghatkesar, Uppal, Hayathnagar, Saroornagar, Rajendranagar, Moinabad,
Chevella, Shabad, Shamshabad, Mahewsaram, Ibrahimpatnam, Kandukur, part of
Yacharam and part of Manchal; part of Mahboobnagar — two mandals —
Kothur and part of Farooknagar; and part of Nalgonda — four mandals —
Chotuppal, Bibinagar, Bhuvanagiri and Bommalaramaram.
Focus on good governance
A three-tier structure would be formed for good governance of HMDA with
Chief Minister as Chairman, the Minister for Municipal Administration and
Urban Development as Vice-Chairman, a non-official as Deputy Chairman, and
a Chief Executive Officer would head administration.
An executive committee would have a high-ranking government official,
experts on environment, transportation, planning, etc.
© Copyright 2000 – 2006 The Hindu


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: